FACULTY OF ARTS AND SOCIAL SCIENCES

SYLLABUS

M. P. A. (Music Vocal) ID COURSE

(SEMESTER: IV)

Session 2019-20



KHALSA COLLEGE AMRITSAR (An Autonomous College)

Note: (i) Copy rights are reserved. Nobody is allowed to print it in any form. Defaulters will be prosecuted.

(ii) Subject to change in the syllabi at any time.

SESSION: 2019-2020 M. P.A. (Music Vocal) SEMESTER–IV Paper: Basic Concepts of Political Science

Time: 3 Hours

Max. Marks: 50 Theory: 40 Marks Internal Assessment: 10 Marks

Instructions for the Paper Setter:-

The question paper consists of Five Sections: A, B, C, D and E. Sections A, B, C and D will have two questions each from Unit- I, II, III and IV of the syllabus, each carrying 6 marks. The students are to attempt one question from each section approximately in 250 words. Section E consists of ten short answer type questions to be set from the entire syllabus. The students are to attempt eight questions in 50 words approximately, each carrying 2 marks.

UNIT-I

- 1. Political Science: Meaning, Traditional and Modern View.
- 2. Basic Concepts: Rights, Liberty, Equality.

UNIT-II

- 3. State: Meaning and Elements.
- 4. Negative State and Welfare State (Features, Functions, Significance and Drawbacks).

UNIT-III

- 5. Government: Different organs and their Functions.
- 6. Types of Government: Parliamentary and Presidential.

UNIT-IV

- 7. Features of Indian Constitution.
- 8. Features of Indian Federalism.

Books Recommended:-

- 1. A.C. Kapur, Principles of Political Science, New Delhi: S. Chand & Company, 2014.
- 2. B.L. Fadia, Indian Government and Politics, Agra: Sahitya Bhavan Publications, 2008.
- 3. D. D. Basu, An Introduction to the Constitution of India, New Delhi: Prentice Hall, 2008
- 4. G. Austin, *Working of a Democratic Constitution: The Indian Experience*, Delhi: Oxford University Press, 2000.
- 5. J. C. Johari, Principles of Political Science, New Delhi: Sterling Publishers, 2007.
- 6. M.P. Jain, Political Theory, Delhi: Authors Guild Publication, 1989.
- 7. M.V. Pylee, *Constitutional Government in India*, Bombay: Asia Publishing House, 1977.
- 8. S.P. Verma, *Political Theory*, New Delhi: Geetanjali Publishing House, 2015.